The Courts Service is governed by a board consisting of a chairperson and seventeen other members.

The function of the Board is to

  • consider and determine policy in relation to the Service, and
  • oversee the implementation of that policy by the Chief Executive Officer.

Membership of the Board

The Hon. Mr. Justice Donal O'Donnell, Chairperson Chief Justice of Ireland and Chairperson Of The Board
The Hon. Mr. George Birmingham President of the Court of Appeal
The Hon. Mr. Justice David Barniville President of the High Court
The Hon. Ms. Justice Elizabeth Dunne

Elected by the ordinary judges of the Supreme Court

The Hon. Ms. Justice Tara Burns Elected by the ordinary judges of the Court of Appeal
The Hon. Mr. Justice Tony O'Connor Elected by the ordinary judges of the High Court
The Hon. Ms. Justice Patricia Ryan President of the Circuit Court
Her Honour Judge Alice Doyle Elected by the ordinary judges of the Circuit Court
His Honour Judge Paul Kelly President of the District Court
Judge Alan Mitchell Elected by the judges of the District Court
Ms. Angela Denning Chief Executive Officer of the Courts Service
Ms. Sara Phelan

Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland

Mr. Alan Gilhooly Nominee of the Law Society of Ireland
Mr. Derek Bunyan Elected by the staff of the Service
Ms. Rachel Woods

Official of the Department of Justice and Equality nominated by the Minister

Ms. Sarah Benson

nominated by the Minister to represent the consumers of the services provided by the courts

Mr. Owen Reidy, General Secretary nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions
Mr. Noel Beecher

nominated by the Minister for relevant knowledge and experience in commerce, finance or administration.


The Courts Service Board has established a number of Committees which support the Board in carrying out its functions. The following committees deal with a range of issues:

  • Finance Committee
  • Building Committee
  • Family Law Court Development Committee
  • Audit and Risk Committee

Further information on the Board and Committees is contained in the Courts Service Governance Framework Document.

Board Governance

The Terms of Reference of the Courts Service Board set out the structure and composition, remit, powers and authority, membership and operating procedures of the Board.  

The Courts Service Board has put in place a Code of Conduct for Board members.  The Code supports the Board in operating to the highest standards of integrity, accountability and transparency.

Board Meetings

The Courts Service Board usually schedules 5 to 6 meetings each year. Additional Board meetings are arranged as required.

A note of matters considered and decisions made at Board meetings can be accessed below.

About Us - Minutes of Meetings 2019 - Attachment Block